Welcome Curriculum Features & Traditions How to Enroll Parent Handbook NSM Looks to the Future
PTA Art in Action Music for Minors Site Council
Donate Online Fundraising Volunteering Volunteer Report Form Check Volunteer Hours SMFC Education Foundation Shop to Benefit NSM
Clubs Computer Lab Library Middle School Park Dates
Daily Schedule Detailed Weekly Schedules School Events School Year and Lunch Calendars
Home Page Logo

A California Distinguished School

Celebrating 20 Years: 1994-2014

 

Principal: Phyllis Harrison
Admin. Assistant: Carol Cocoles
Enrollment: 415
Grades: PK-8
Calendar: Traditional

Regular School Hours:
Kindergarten:   8:15 AM - 12:30 PM
Grades 1-3:      8:15 AM - 2:35 PM
Grades 4-8:      8:15 AM - 3:01 PM


Minimum Days (Wednesdays):
Grades 1-8:      8:15 AM - 12:20 PM

Quick Links

In this week's Thursday Envelope

PPT, Word, Excel Viewers [Go]
Acrobat Reader [Go]

Webmaster Login

North Shoreview is a public Montessori school in San Mateo, California, offering preschool, elementary, and middle-school programs. We are part of the San Mateo-Foster City School District and a member of the American Montessori Society. As a public magnet school, we offer an alternative curriculum designed to meet all California state educational standards.

After five years on our volunteer-built Drupal system, we are in the process of moving the NSM website to this SchoolLoop system.  Thank you for your patience with missing pages or broken links as our parent volunteers complete this process over the next few weeks.  Please continue to check www.nsmontessori.org for the latest school and PTA announcements.

The Montessori Messenger

Overcrowding

Please stay aware of what’s going on at your school and in the district and give your input at the district’s forums about overcrowding.  http://smfc-ca.schoolloop.com/cms/page_view?d=x&piid=&vpid=1409651259672

If you can’t go to one of their forums to give your opinion, please fill out the survey. 

https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/Enrollment-English

 

Our voice matters!!

Posted by: NSM PTA
Published: 10/16/14

Historical Halloween Costume Swap

Historical Halloween is a longstanding tradition at NSM. But... are you having trouble finding that perfect item to finish off your child's costume? Check out the current list of available costumes in the NSM costume spreadsheet at www.nsmontessori.org.  If your kids have a costume they have outgrown, please consider handing it down to another NSM family or loaning it for the day

Posted by: NSM PTA
Published: 10/16/14

The Reading Bug Presents Arree Chung, author of NINJA – Book Orders Due October 23

Mr. Chung will be speaking with our pre-school and Kindergarten – second grade students

on November 13, 2014 in the gym (parents are welcome).  If you would like a personalized copy of NINJA for your child, please turn in the attached

order form to Carol in the office by October 23.   The Reading Bug donates BugBucks to our school library from proceeds of the sale.

Posted by: NSM PTA
Published: 10/16/14

17th District PTA General Meeting – October 22nd

7pm, San Mateo County Office of Education
Every PTA member is invited to the 17th District PTA General Meeting on Oct 22 at 7pm to learn about Youth Mental Health First Aid and the Parent Project.  The meeting will be held at the San Mateo County Office of Education, 101 Twin Dolphin Drive, Redwood City.  Learn how to communicate better with your children. 

 

Learn how to recognize when a student is in crisis and how to bridge them to the help they need.  Lauren Getuiza from San Mateo County Health will present an overview of the YMHFA county program that teaches risk factors and warning signs of mental health problems in youth, and how to play an instrumental part in students getting the help they need. 

 

The Parent Project® is a free, 11-week county sponsored course where parents learn parenting skills such as: appropriate ways to discipline, preventing or stopping alcohol, drug and tobacco use, improving communication skills, and improving grades and school attendance.

http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/17thdistrictpta/~3/5JyZwGWDcMI/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email

Posted by: NSM PTA
Published: 10/16/14

Support Music in our District!

Our donations to support music in our district are due soon!  Don’t forget to do your part to support music in our schools!
 

Reminder: Discount Card Fundraiser orders or returned cards DUE

A few weeks ago your child brought home an envelope containing a Discount Card supporting the SMFC Education Foundation.  If you haven’t already, please return to your teacher or school office your unsold card or purchase it for $20 (extra cards can be ordered using the order form). 50% goes to support music programs at North Shoreview and other schools in the San Mateo-Foster City School District.  Thanks again for your support!

Posted by: NSM PTA
Published: 10/16/14

Check out the October Lunch menu

http://smfcca.schoolloop.com/file/1262503271128/1346920667924/6571290978672946264.pdf

Posted by: NSM PTA
Published: 10/7/14

Become a PTA member today!

PTA is the nation's oldest, largest and highest profile volunteer organization working on behalf of public schools, children and families.  Becoming a PTA member is easy. Membership is $7.50 per person or $15 per couple annually.  

 

Click here to join the NSM PTA or use the forms your child brought home.  For questions,email membership@nsmontessori.org

Attachments:
Posted by: NSM PTA
Published: 9/16/14

Author Visit and Book Order Form Grades 1 - 3

Nancy Krulik, author of the series Magic Bone, Katie Kazoo, and George Brown, will discuss her writing and sign books on October 1 in the Gym at 9:00 a.m. Book order forms due to Carol in the office by September 25. Parents welcome to attend.

Attachments:
Posted by: NSM PTA
Published: 9/15/14

Coming up at NSM...

Volunteer Hours Reported